On my way back home

It is time for me to go back. It is time to go back home, back to Romania, back to Iasi, my hometown. There where my roots are, where I grew up and got ready to stand on my own two feet, there where I am now coming back, to gather my forces and my allies, to start creating a new kind of life for myself, rising and standing again, maybe differently now, on my own two feet.

The sun is setting, high above the clouds, sending its orange light into the dozed off silence of the airplane. I look around me for a moment, then I turn my eyes again towards the hypnotising light of the sun. The next time it will set, I will already be in Romania. I smile – the first day of my trip started into the light of a sunrise, seen high in the skies from another airplane, the one taking me to Paris. Now everything is coming full circle. One journey, which felt like a lifetime, is coming to an end, in between the light of a sunrise and the light of a sunset.

It is so that this Light Journal, the blog of a girl’s one-year trip around the world, is coming to an end. And we must say goodbye.

I want to thank you. It has been a joy to have you accompanying me along the way, sharing with you moments, and feelings, and images. And who knows, maybe we’ll see each other again, in one part or another of this world!

Epilogue on the back of a photo: The beginning of my new Romanian life came with orange marigold flowers, grey rainy clouds and a lost luggage, and the loving smiles and arms of my friend Irina and her daughter Mara. Interesting mix, isn’t it? Well, if this is how it started, I can’t wait to see what the rest of it will bring!

3 thoughts on “On my way back home

  1. It was wonderful to meet you Ioana, and I took the journey with you through your pictures and writing.. :) love to you <3

Leave a Reply

