Ancient Persia

(written during my trip in Iran, 25 April – 12 May 2013)

We waked up early in the morning to go to Persepolis. One day before I had arrived to Shiraz, a city in the southern part of Iran, famous for being close to the historic site of Persepolis and for having been the home to the tomb of Hafez, the great Persian poet.

Under the bright Iranian sun, we merged for one day into the long history of ancient Persia, starting with the Necropolis, where the tombs of Darius I the Great, Darius II and other Persian kings were carved into the stone of the mountain more than 2500 years ago. Then we visited Persepolis, the capital of ancient Persia, burnt down following the conquest of Alexander the Great, and the ziggurat shaped tomb of Cyrus the Great. In between, I rode for the first time in my life a camel (well a horse too, because the guy with the camel kept insisting, showing the horse: “pictures, pictures!”).

While I was walking by the stone carved silhouettes of the Persian soldiers, images of the same figures from my old history books came back to me – at that time I had never thought I would see them so close… I thought about my high school history teacher, evoking in class the figure of Darius the Great. He loved so much the Ancient period that instead of 2 or 3 months, we studied it for an entire year… Here, Mr. Busnosu, this one is for you!

7 thoughts on “Ancient Persia

  1. Our generation really studied ancient history in school, Ioana! And although the teacher’s passion about it is one of my dearest memories from high school, I can only imagine how wonderful it must be seeing it all up close! I admire you so for taking on this journey and adventure! And I hope you do know there’s quite a few of us that experience it vicariously through your blog! :) Keep the stories comin’ we’re here to read them!

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement, Loredana! I write this for you, my friends at home, so it feels good to know that what I write speaks to you :)

  2. Pingback: Shiraz, Hafez’s home | The Light Journal by Ioana Iftode

  3. Pingback: My Persian experience | The Light Journal by Ioana Iftode

  4. “Do you know how beautiful you are?
    I think not, my dear.
    For as you talk of God,
    I see great parades with wildly colorful bands
    Streaming from your mind and heart,
    Carrying wonderful and secret messages
    To every corner of this world.
    I see saints bowing in the mountains
    Hundreds of miles away
    To the wonder of sounds
    That break into light
    From your most common words.
    Speak to me of your mother,
    Your cousins and your friends.
    Tell me of squirrels and birds you know.
    Awaken your legion of nightingales—
    Let them soar wild and free in the sky.
    And begin to sing to God.
    Let’s all begin to sing to God!
    Do you know how beautiful you are?
    I think not, my dear,
    Yet Hafiz
    Could set you upon a Stage
    And worship you forever!”
    Saints bowing in the mountains

Leave a Reply

